Blizzard Mania!

7 02 2008

snowstorm-feb2008.jpg

Last night, there was a really big snow storm which packed snow to the ground about 2 to 5 cm per hour – the snow ended up to 30 cm overnight, a record height in decades. I’m pretty sure my brother has a blog of his own about this as well.

As I reflect on those events, there were plenty of nice and interesting things about the blizzard.

Through introspection, I thought that compared to rainstorms, snowstorms are actually much better because they don’t wet your clothes too much; but obviously the bad side of it is that when it packs down to the ground, it’ll have to be shoveled or plowed right away because vehicles will definitely be stuck, traffic would be so awful, it’s not even going to be easy to walk on snow that high.

February 6 was when the university closed down after learning the news of the bad snowstorm. In fact, ALL educational institutions shut down when the blizzard blasted the city in addition to some companies, government institutions and shops. It also delayed and even cancelled tons of flights in our major international airport. Thing why I stressed this is because the university did close down a week ago because of a snow storm that wasn’t really as worse as that night.

That night would be my second time to encounter being in the middle of a snow storm in my life time – the first one was when I was new to Canada. But anyways, What happened was that when the university was said to close, I saw that the people outside were topped with snow on their heads, their knapsacks and their shoulders which signals that the snow storm has arrived and was not about to just cover up the people with snow, but with the fact that snow have closed down the university for the rest of the day, it could possibly shut down the whole city if the snow does not end falling.

I rushed to the usual bus stop that I take and waited for an hour before a bus could arrive, I then thought that the roads might be really slick and high that it caused the bus to delay upon its arrival. An hour of waiting is not normal on a usual day.And it was just incomprehensible! After riding the bus, I felt so annoyed and irritated seeing the fact that the bus stopped at one point for almost an hour when it only passed two blocks still close to my university. Then when the bus was moving, it’ll stop for another several minutes. I wasn’t just annoyed with the stalling of the bus, but there was a little kid crying out loud “LET’S GO!”, several youngsters who were just laughing about something, the continuous storm outside, and at that time, my cellphone was running out of batteries; all making me just frustrated of sitting down in the bus; aside from all that, I need to transfer to another bus – it takes 2 buses to travel from the university to my house.

From a usual 45-60 minute of travel, last night took me about 3-4 hours of travel! 3 TO 4 HOURS!!! Not only that, I also had to worry about shoveling the driveway which as I expected would be much worse than our other snowy days.

My brother was lucky that night because he was able to hitch a ride with some stranger in a car. I definitely like the gesture of some stranger giving my brother a speedy ride home, but I didn’t expect that anyone would do it for a lot of obvious reasons – I guess when it comes to snow, some drivers wouldn’t really mind.

Anyways, we both got home safely yet obviously we needed to shovel our driveway to make it easier for my dad to ram his car all the way to the garage.

With 30 centimetres of snow in the driveway, there’s just no way we could push the snow all the way to a certain end of the driveway where we eventually piled them up. All that shoveling took us another 2 hours.

I was so exhausted after all the traveling and digging. But you know what? In the end, It’s all about jazz music and talk radio in bed that soothe that pain, frustration and weakness I felt that night.

Few more things that made that night very unlucky. One is that I had to study for a Spanish test the next day and I had to deal with another 3 hours of travel time because some of the roads apparently weren’t shoveled yet.

But it’s really a wonder. I wish I had some kind of poetic message in mind, but it’s all restricted right now to my own introspection.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

